Mac applications not working

Fehler und Wünsche zum Projekt yoyo@home
Bugs and wishes for the project yoyo@home

Mac applications not working

Unread postby zombie67 » 12.08.2007 02:59

FYI, I am getting errors when running yoyo on my macs, both PPC and Intel.

Sat Aug 11 09:36:44 2007|yoyo@home|Restarting task wu_1186753552_183_0 using crunch version 104
Sat Aug 11 09:36:48 2007|yoyo@home|Task wu_1186753552_183_0 exited with zero status but no 'finished' file
Sat Aug 11 09:36:48 2007|yoyo@home|If this happens repeatedly you may need to reset the project.
Sat Aug 11 09:36:48 2007|yoyo@home|Restarting task wu_1186753552_183_0 using crunch version 104
Sat Aug 11 09:36:52 2007|yoyo@home|Task wu_1186753552_183_0 exited with zero status but no 'finished' file
Sat Aug 11 09:36:52 2007|yoyo@home|If this happens repeatedly you may need to reset the project.
Sat Aug 11 09:36:52 2007|yoyo@home|Restarting task wu_1186753552_183_0 using crunch version 104
Sat Aug 11 09:36:56 2007|yoyo@home|Task wu_1186753552_183_0 exited with zero status but no 'finished' file
Sat Aug 11 09:36:56 2007|yoyo@home|If this happens repeatedly you may need to reset the project.
(infinite loop)
Dublin, California
Team: SETI.USA
Image
Image
User avatar
zombie67
Prozessor-Polier
Prozessor-Polier
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 26.07.2007 21:58
Location: Dublin, CA

Unread postby yoyo » 12.08.2007 09:31

Hello,
You can help me to find the problem:

-Start the boinc client with:
boinc --exit_before_start

-Afterwards you can start boincmanager which will attach to it.

-Download a yoyo wu. Boinc will exit before the wu is started.

- Change in boinc slot directory where the cruncher is:
cd BOINC/slot/0

- Start the wrapper by hand:
../../projects/www.rechenkraft.net_yoyo/wrapper*

It should crash like in Boinc. Pleas send me (yoyo at mailueberfall dot de):
- the content of slot/0 directory
- the content of projects/www.rechenkraft_yoyo directory

It would be interesting what is in std* and wu* files.

yoyo
HILF mit im Rechenkraft-WiKi, dies gibts zu tun.
Wiki - FAQ - Verein - Chat

Image Image
User avatar
yoyo
Vereinsvorstand
Vereinsvorstand
 
Posts: 7107
Joined: 17.12.2002 14:09
Location: Berlin

Unread postby yoyo » 13.08.2007 20:01

I hope version 1.05 is now working on Mac.
yoyo
HILF mit im Rechenkraft-WiKi, dies gibts zu tun.
Wiki - FAQ - Verein - Chat

Image Image
User avatar
yoyo
Vereinsvorstand
Vereinsvorstand
 
Posts: 7107
Joined: 17.12.2002 14:09
Location: Berlin

Unread postby Augustine » 13.08.2007 23:23

Ditto for Linux, both 1.04 and 1.05.

Thanks.
Image
User avatar
Augustine
Mikrocruncher
Mikrocruncher
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 13.08.2007 15:56

Unread postby Augustine » 14.08.2007 16:45

yoyo wrote:It would be interesting what is in std* and wu* files.

Here they are:
  • slots/0/stderr:
    wrapper: running crunch_1.02_i686-pc-linux-gnu (-runoffline)
  • slots/0/stderr.txt:
    shmget: No such file or directory
    Can't set up shared mem: -1
    Will run in standalone mode.
    running crunch_1.02_i686-pc-linux-gnu
    app error: 0x6c00
  • slots/0/stdout:
  • projects/.../stderr.txt:
    Can't open init data file - running in standalone mode
    can't open job file job.xml
    can't parse job file: -108
  • projects/.../job_1.04_i686-pc-linux-gnu.xml:
    <job_desc>
    <task>
    <application>crunch_1.02_i686-pc-linux-gnu</application>
    <stdout_filename>stdout</stdout_filename>
    <stderr_filename>stderr</stderr_filename>
    <command_line>-runoffline -multiok=1 -e ... -numcpu 0 -n -1 -inbase in -outbase out</command_line>
    </task>
    </job_desc>

HTH

PS: "..." above replaces URL-like text.
Image
User avatar
Augustine
Mikrocruncher
Mikrocruncher
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 13.08.2007 15:56

Unread postby zombie67 » 14.08.2007 18:14

The fix is in place. Detach, make sure projects/( this project) is gone, and then reattach.
Dublin, California
Team: SETI.USA
Image
Image
User avatar
zombie67
Prozessor-Polier
Prozessor-Polier
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 26.07.2007 21:58
Location: Dublin, CA

More errors...

Unread postby jedirock » 23.10.2007 22:36

There seems to be more errors on my system. On IRC, I had mentioned that my yoyo@home WUs didn't seem to be progressing. I've discovered why, but I don't know why it's occurring. Result 134257 is the first WU I noticed it with. I've scrapped three of them now because of this.

PS: I would've used a link, but the forums block links until I have posted three legit posts. You'll just have to paste the link together yourself. Stupid thing...
jedirock
 

Unread postby yoyo » 24.10.2007 15:01

Do you use CPU throttling? This is not supported by yoyo@home and leads to a very big enlarging of the run time.
yoyo
HILF mit im Rechenkraft-WiKi, dies gibts zu tun.
Wiki - FAQ - Verein - Chat

Image Image
User avatar
yoyo
Vereinsvorstand
Vereinsvorstand
 
Posts: 7107
Joined: 17.12.2002 14:09
Location: Berlin

Unread postby jedirock » 24.10.2007 17:59

yoyo wrote:Do you use CPU throttling? This is not supported by yoyo@home and leads to a very big enlarging of the run time.
yoyo

Ah, that explains it. I use it to try and keep my temperatures down, because it can reach up to 88C when on full. I can probably limit it to one core and still have it at full when a yoyo@home WU is running. Thanks!
jedirock
 

Unread postby UL1 » 11.11.2007 11:26

I'm trying to use Yoyo on an iMac, running Tiger. I've downloaded 2 WUs now, but none of them seems to start running. I get the message "Running high priority", but neither the processor-time, nor the progress- or the remaining-time display show any action. I've had them running about two hours, then stopped it. I've already set the project back once, deleted it and reinstalled it: same effect. Am I doing something wrong ?
No probs when running Yoyo on PS3 and Win...
UL1
Idle-Sammler
Idle-Sammler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 11.11.2007 11:15

Unread postby yoyo » 11.11.2007 11:43

Hello,
the workunit contains 8 OGR. After one OGR the progress bar will be increased by 12,5%. This can take up to 5h. If you see in task manager (don't know how this is named on mac) that cruncher uses CPU it runs without poblems. Also in the sot directory you can see that 2 checkpoint files are written. One of them should update ever 10-20 minutes.
yoyo
HILF mit im Rechenkraft-WiKi, dies gibts zu tun.
Wiki - FAQ - Verein - Chat

Image Image
User avatar
yoyo
Vereinsvorstand
Vereinsvorstand
 
Posts: 7107
Joined: 17.12.2002 14:09
Location: Berlin

Unread postby UL1 » 11.11.2007 11:49

Das mit der Fortschrittsanzeige kenn' ich ja von meinen DOSen. Aber wenigstens bei der Prozessorzeit sollte sich doch von Anfang an schon was tun, oder ?
UL1
Idle-Sammler
Idle-Sammler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 11.11.2007 11:15

Next

Return to Fehler, Wünsche / Bugs, Wishes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest